Rebirth

Time flies.

Too fast. Faster than the lure.

Past year has been a very hard one. We have lost three of our beloved wolfhounds, two due internal cancer, one due gastric bloat. And our grand old lady is 12.5 years now, having better and worse days.

She is way past her expiry date, but she is still going strong despite it all!

I have had a lot time to think about lure coursing, sighthounds, their performance in the field (both locally and internationally) and their training. Over the past two competition seasons I have had several discussions about training and working with lure coursing sighthounds, which have incited some interesting questions about the sport itself.

And I think it’s time to share those thoughts with you.

I’m not making promises. I know that as I’m excited right now could mean multiple posts in a week, only to dwindle down to one a month. So let’s assume that I’ll post one a week. It may change or not.

New beginnings are exciting and fun. Like a new puppy, waiting to grow up to the great and marvelous wolfhound!
sleepy-nose

5 thoughts on “Rebirth

  1. I don’t want to miss a post even if they dwindle to monthly. My first 2 wolfhounds are ranked top 10 here in the US. Everyone says it’s beginners luck but I feel like I’m figuring a few things out. But…maybe that’s what all people with beginners luck say.

    • Excellent! I wish you the same as I wish to all participating in lure coursing: In good condition to the trials, in one piece back home! No injuries! If I can give you even a tiny bit of helpful information or help, these scribbles on the wall have filled their purpose!
      With common sense your first ones are incredible. Then you start to think things over. And over. And over. And you think them over. The more you know, the more you feel you are doing things wrong or you can do some detail better.
      Common sense and consistency goes a long way. Way longer than you might expect. My advice to a new lure coursing people comes in two sentences: don’t try to fix something that is not broken and more rest than work. The rest is just tweaking the machine in the long run. The most important thing to remember while lure coursing is the cooldown. Never, EVER, leave that out of your competition routine.
      After all, the dog is number one. All success is our doing, because the dog just lives this moment.

Leave a Reply

